Explore the long, rich legacy of the Marine Corps at the Parris Island Museum.
The Depot is home to the Marine Corps’ first Command Museum, the Parris Island Museum. Thanks to the efforts of then Commanding General Robert H. Barrow, under the authority of the Marine Corps History and Museum Division, the museum was dedicated on 8 January 1975 by Commandant of the Marine Corps, Robert E. Cushman, Jr.
Today, the museum houses over 10,000 square feet of exhibit galleries.
They serve as a focal point for assisting in the training of recruits about the long and honored history and traditions of the Marine Corps. Marine families, veterans, and the general public will also find inspiration from the stories told through artifacts and images of Marines who served our nation during some of our most challenging times.
Alongside early Marine Corps history exhibits devoted entirely to the Charlesfort-Santa Elena National Historic Landmark, site of French and Spanish colonies on Parris Island between 1562 and 1587. It offers an insight into the exciting history of the Port Royal region.
The Historical & Museum Society supports the Parris Island Museum by providing for the preservation, perpetuation, publication and display of manuscripts, books, relics, pictures and other objects of historical significance. Donations, Membership and Gift Shop purchases allow the Historical & Museum Society to support the Museum.
The public is welcome to visit. Access may be dependent upon current security needs. Entry to Parris Island requires a driver’s license, proof of vehicle insurance and registration.
The Parris Island Museum is open daily from 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. and 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. on Family and Graduation Days. Admission is free.
For more information, call 843- 228-2951 or go to parrisislandmuseum.com.